HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: Cornshaq

AKIBA'S BEAT - REVIEW

203 ratings | 10604 views
Hey everyone for this review I take on Akiba's Beat for the Playstation 4 brought to us by Xseed. Its also out on Vita its a follow up to Akiba's Trip but without the clothes stripping and now a action RPG instead of beat em up. Overall the game ends up lacking in overall design and becomes boring only a few hours into a long game. My reviews are 100% unbiased and I will never do one unless I am confident enough to do so. I use a scale of 1 - 10 with 5 being a average game. Many professional reviewers use 7 as a average game which I find is more of a trick to convince you the consumer that a game is better then it really is. Check out my stuff on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/cornshaq Twitch.tv http://www.twitch.tv/cornshaq Twitter https://twitter.com/cornshaq Instagram http://instagram.com/cornshaq Steam Group http://steamcommunity.com/groups/cornshaq #cornshaq #gamereview #playstation #nintendo #videogamereview #videogames #review #reviewer #gamereviewer
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (41)
Cornshaq (1 year ago)
Hey everyone thanks for watching this is easily one of my most disappointing games so far this year I expected a lot more out of it after enjoying Akiba's Trip. I forgot to mention its also on Vita so I apologize for that as well as some of the gameplay quality is potato due to having to take it from my live stream after a large chunk of footage got corrupted. I am just happy to be done with this one.
Talesof Passion (1 year ago)
Rangerborn 128 I felt as if you see the game for what it is it's okay not terrible. I'm enjoying the simple aspects of the game until something else comes out like the remake of Final Fantasy 12 for the PS4 or Mary Skelter on the vita but overall I've put 50 hours in Akiba's Beat and playing it on the Imagine difficulty and I'm enjoying it on that difficulty (even if I get nothing out of it)
HorizonCrosser 128 (1 year ago)
CornshaqGaming I know how you feel. Seeing that the game even got average reception in Japan and as of now, only sold 11k copies, I'm not surprised. This game just feels like a Tales game on a budget, and not in a good way.
Wesley Landon Woolsey (1 year ago)
CornshaqGaming Disappointing indeed!
Carlo Castronovo (9 days ago)
Got it for $12 See how much I enjoy the game. I collect RPG type games and like some of the more odder versions myself. If not only few bucks spent.
GutterBird Skate (17 days ago)
Picked it up on sale for $15 after playing akibas trip, which I really really liked. So far this one is okay but really lacking in the same quirky fun and feels less detailed to me. I play on vita btw
OrbAsM (1 month ago)
Why does everyone like Akiba's Trip (Akiba Strip)??? That game played terribly, the combat was super annoying. This game actually looks like a neat JRPG with a better art style.
Comrade Jack (4 months ago)
Say what you will, I still loved this game. Worth the price I paid ($20).
ミク Deviluke (5 months ago)
Is this game on Switch or PC ?
Pixel Passion (3 months ago)
ミク Deviluke no and no
Ben Foster (9 months ago)
Thanks for the review. Glad I didn't just assume it was a straight up sequel to Akiba's Trip and purchase blindly in a sale.
Cornshaq (9 months ago)
+Ben Foster yeah that's one reason I wanted to review it when it first came out.
Adam Poole (9 months ago)
strange.. considering i've heard others say its a good game..mixed opinions i guess
AmberStorm (1 year ago)
I saw this game at my local store and my gut instinct immediately went haywire saying this looks like Persona and Tales had a baby and that baby became an otaku. Good to know my instincts are still sharp I guess. seriously though, this game's combat may as well have a flashing neon sign reading *WE STOLE THIS SYSTEM FROM THE TALES OF XILLIA DUOLOGY!* they are nearly identical in layout, design, camera, UI, even the bloody items heal the exact % as Tales games use in most games and are even (from what I saw) the same damn colours as their Tales counterparts. Story wise it looks sounds like discount Persona 5 but replace mask with headsets and though I haven't seen much gameplay but this immediately triggers my Fanservice alarm to the nth degree. Was going to pick this game up as it was on sale at my local store just for jokes and because I need something to attempt to replace the void left in my soul by P5 absense after completion, but thank god I decided to watch a few reviews first
That Espurr Dude (1 year ago)
I recommend wait for a price drop. It looks really boring tbh.
StealthGundamVRX (1 year ago)
Got this game and didnt like it just didnt appeal to me will probably trade it in for a different Vita game.
Saloz94 (1 year ago)
Been playing through the game and I feel a 4 out of 10 is way to harsh.
ragingchaosgod (1 year ago)
ngl but the stripping thing was what put me off from getting Strip so I'm fine with the dungeons and the gameplay but I am sorely disappointed that they removed character customization.
flamehiro (1 year ago)
looks like a low grade ps3 game xD or even ps2, prob will stick pick it up eventually if story is good though
The One Being Sung (1 year ago)
I really wished I watched this review before making the purchase. Akiba'sTrip made me insta buy this... damn it! No aesthetic changes when swapping armour made me more bummed out then anything though lol. I loved my characters getup in Akiba'sTrip.
Orpheus Joshua (1 year ago)
While the game play and environments are complete shit in this one, I do prefer the characters and story. They're all pretty great imo.
larenzo hudson (1 year ago)
i love the dialog in this game
Michael McQuaid (1 year ago)
I did like Strip so I was hoping you'd do this. The reason why your reviews are better is because of exact details you give. Things you mentioned in this followup are things that saved me $60 (CAN). I'll just use that to preorder Tekken7. I already own P5, I'll play that if I want this style of game
Gilles Ronconi (1 year ago)
Repeating dungeons and enemies appearing in different color palettes reminds me a lot of Fairy Fencer F. Definitely not gonna buy this now, thanks to your review. I'm glad I watched it 😉
Leolyon00 (1 year ago)
And this is why I'm subscribed- saved me 50$ 👍
Jay Dee (1 year ago)
I got the vita version, this game is not worthy of being in my ps4 pro.
Tarks Gauntlet (1 year ago)
I'm playing this myself. Honestly I feel this a bit of a step back from Akiba's Trip. The game feels heavy and while it runs in a great FPS, it feels as though the controller input is only around 20. I'll finish the game and review it myself just as I reviewed the last, just hoping it's not much longer than 12-14 hours or so. It's clear this was developed for the vita. But they should have expanded the port a little more to maybe allow you to remap to the whole controller and not just what the vita would have been able to use.
27Bayleefs (1 year ago)
Man I loved Akiba's trip, and yeah I might get it later though. I don't tend to mind backtracking and what not, but seriously why the complete 360 to the battle system? Tales battle system is fast paced, and enjoyable, so this doesn't bother me, but they had a unique battle mechanic, why change that? Any way good review, can't wait for the next one.
7Zealot (1 year ago)
Hmm, that's too bad. I could tell repetition was going to be a problem with this one. Really appreciate the review.
Peter Loschny (1 year ago)
Great review! Like you I enjoyed Akiba's Trip which is a good decent game which has its moments. Too bad that this game is subpar. However, I will buy it sometime because I collect RPGs and will end up with a complete RPG collection for the PS4. Like you said, there are so many very good action RPGs out there that this title is not worth it from a standpoint of gameplay value.
Cornshaq (1 year ago)
+Peter Loschny thank you glad you enjoyed the review and glad to find more that enjoyed akibas trip.
Wesley Landon Woolsey (1 year ago)
The change of direction of Akiba's Beat is totally Bloody Boobs!
Cornshaq (1 year ago)
+Wesley Landon Woolsey lol
Malik Streeter (1 year ago)
I was definitely on the fence when it came to this game since i enjoyed akiba's trip but no I'll save my money and go for deemo
YeOldeTreeStump (1 year ago)
The walking animation feels so wonky to look at. Great review nonetheless
LXRYLXRYTV (1 year ago)
reminds me of rival schools.
Tyler Thunder (1 year ago)
Tokyo Xanadu will be better I think!
Cornshaq (1 year ago)
It looks pretty good hopefully it will be better. This is one of those games I wanted to like and was expecting to be enjoyable and it just failed to deliver for me.
markseifjr (1 year ago)
QUIRKY!!!!
markseifjr (1 year ago)
you're very welcome for the view, like and comment :)
Cornshaq (1 year ago)
Thanks very useful comment.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.