HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: joshscorcher

Fame and Misfortune Review

2321 ratings | 63555 views
Take a shot for every minute I soapbox. M.A. Larson's Panel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qKgav9k_u0 -------------------------------- Tumblr http://joshscorcher.tumblr.com/ Twitter https://twitter.com/joshscorcher Patreon http://www.patreon.com/joshscorcher
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1093)
sebastian banguis (1 day ago)
0:52-Now I want to eat Apple Jacks.........KELLOGGS! MAKE THIS WORK!
Father and Son Games (2 days ago)
I found this video very insightful... I like it (and the episode, but than again I’m more into the story than the morals....and I have a habit of avoiding large portions because I think they may be cringe-y)
I’m surprised you didn’t bring up the fact that rainbow dash is incidentally (or explicitly) stated that she knows daring do via adventure. Which is something that should be kept secret for obvious reasons!
Jordan Dwiggins (11 days ago)
This episode is probably the only time an episode has managed to surpass Feeling Pinkie Keen for having a combination of horribly worded morals and making me laugh absolutely nonstop. I can’t tell whether I think they are the worst episodes in the show or my two of my favorites or both. This has to be the most interesting episode because of how bizarre it is within the context of this fandom. It’s a shame that they had to botch up M.A. Larson’s message so badly but I can’t deny I had more fun watching it all happen than I have in a looong time
sebastian banguis (12 days ago)
4:28-FORESHADOWING!!!!!!!!
Nickidimus De (14 days ago)
But best Pony Is Pinkie Pie
Vampire Hunter TK (18 days ago)
3:06 A Conner the Waffle reference.
Max Mairo (20 days ago)
I was always hesitant to watch this episode, thank you Josh for keeping me company through this and making it far FAR more entertaining then just watching the episode blind.
Conner Heise (23 days ago)
I only imagine a pony with a flamethrower That pony is pyro
23goldenwolf (24 days ago)
“Josh, this is, like, the 4th time you’ve opened with that kind of line.” “Yeah! I know!”
Bold And Brash (25 days ago)
5:13 You would not believe how much I quote this (just swap out "Pony" for Villain, Character etc.)
War Cedric (1 month ago)
There’s a reason that no Youtuber ponies are background ponies, and this video highlights one big reason: Youtuber ponies have brains
Logan Rorke (1 month ago)
twilight is like "starlight go for a walk."
Sarah Huntsinger (1 month ago)
I feel like the song was something they made before the re-write. It seems to fit better with Larson's earlier vision of the shows moral than the one they turned it into.
Melody M (1 month ago)
It's like you said about dream in your Bloom and Gloom review; compare to a dream, Ponyville is real life. So compared to a book that could possibly made made up by the ponies, Ponyville is reality.
Christian Walters (1 month ago)
CONUNISSUM 2.O
Christian Walters (1 month ago)
WHY ARE YOU FUNNY
Hawk Hellums (1 month ago)
Rarity isn't best pony rainbow dash is This is thunder blast saying have fun be awesome 👍😎👍😎
bendy sans (2 months ago)
Derpy is best pony >w<
Ethan Boyer (2 months ago)
Hello atheist here and the part with Jesus made me feel uncomfortable and I only recently declared my self an atheist a few months ago it’s very unsettling how that part made me feel
James Cook (2 months ago)
Am I the only one reminded of the itchy scratchy and poochy show?
Konahrik (2 months ago)
Quick someone kill the soviet
Andrew M (2 months ago)
As someone who has worked with celebrities at conventions, I have seen the good and bad side of fans. Most are nice and appreciative but you’ll get the rare fan who act like they’re entitled to something them.
Zethrona Selvon (2 months ago)
Flutterdash ship might be confirmed
CypherShark (3 months ago)
Equestria Girls is just Hasbro's answer to Monster High
This episode is complete shit!
Kelvin Shadewing (3 months ago)
Too bad it wasn't the great pie war, amirite? ;3
Kyra Basket Case (3 months ago)
.......sociology that's what I'm seeing then again it can mean something else.
Unicorn Bunny (3 months ago)
I’m honestly surprised that out of all the cartoons that get criticism, Friendship Is Magic decides to do a Attack The Critics/Fandom episode. (Especially since cartoons like Steven Universe and Star Vs get much more hate, but haven’t done this kind of episode yet.)
Unicorn Bunny (3 months ago)
This episode reminds of a scene in Wreck It Ralph 2, where Ralph reads the hate comments on his videos and Yess tells him not to do that. The reason why this scene bothered me was because why did Ralph have to turn his cheek the other way to non-constructive hate comments? Why couldn’t these people simply learn how to be decent, civil human beings and give constructive criticism? Framing all criticism as non-constructive and not worth listening to is basically enabling toxicity between YouTube creators and comments, as well as telling children that if you make videos that get any criticism, they’re not worth listening to.
Bella Dow (3 months ago)
*sees Adam Ruins Everything clip* INSTANT LIKE!
Farming TV (3 months ago)
You A Christian I am
NoirRaven (3 months ago)
I don't think hasbro was trying to say their characters are real as much as they're showing bronies what the characters think of them and their complaints.
Warren Pond III (4 months ago)
Nice Monty Python reference! lol
Warfox Two Zero (4 months ago)
Hi Commander, small critique with this one. During the Communism joke the first medal you showed was a British WW2 Star, gold star with dark blue, red and light blue ribbon. Not too big a deal for me, but there might be others who are not so chill.
Andrew Hall (4 months ago)
3:06  I love this man XD
Chai Mocha (4 months ago)
This episode could've been better handled. For a while I had no idea what Hasbro (not gonna slam Larson) was up to. Then after watching it a few times, I thought maybe they were trying to poke fun at the toxic fanbase. I think where people are getting riled up is how the episode was executed. And if that's the case they're not doing a good job at it. I can see the point of people who like it who can laugh at themselves for taking things too seriously. But I can also see the point of people who take umbridge of the execution.
Chai Mocha (4 months ago)
Adding onto that I kinda think Larson himself wish the episode was better handled if he had more creative freedom
Sama Lass (4 months ago)
Your argument at 12:35 Was God awful.
Unicorn Bunny (3 months ago)
Sama Lass How was his argument awful?
Neku Neko (4 months ago)
I really actually liked the song at the end “flawless” or “were not flawless”
Molly Maloy (4 months ago)
That is literally how I felt but in a GOOD explanation instead of the explanation I tried to give one of my fellow pegasisters. Showed her this video and she under stood! Thanks for helping me to know I wasn't alone with my opinion.
wattsink2009 (4 months ago)
I am disinclined to acknowledge the unicorn known as Rarity as the supposed “best pony.” I say “best pony” is tied between Twilight and Applejack.
Mario and friends (4 months ago)
The score is probably D+.
ZippyQue (4 months ago)
I would have to argue with Josh on this. I feel this episode of MLP had more to do with social media fame than MLP and its fanbase. Hear me out: The mane 6, along with Starlight Glimmer, start making copies of books and starts sending them to stores for them to be sold on the market (akin to sending a post on Twitter, Facebook, tumblr, etc.). Now the rest of ponyville see it, and suddenly, everyone starts boycotting, invading privacy, trying to integrate into their families, laughing at even the nonsensical words, etc. This reallches to the point of where the mane 6 finally had to step in and put their hoof down and say "We (the celebrities) are not perfect. We have flaws too." While, yes, this can be viewed as a message from Hasbro towards its overcritical audience, it can also be viewed as a message to fandoms of celebrities and/or YouTube stars; and the reason for the message being muddled is to ensure the audience can apply it to other scenarios like this as well; generalized for a broader purpose.
Unicorn Bunny (3 months ago)
ZippyQue That May be true, but judging by the “Rarity hate” balloons and the criticisms of Fluttershy, it’s clearly trying to speak to the fans. Be honest: would anyone outside the Brony fandom even *watch* this episode, let alone the show?
Machias Nava (5 months ago)
Thank you for making this on my birthday!
MaxZaps Gaming (5 months ago)
Sorry Josh but AppleJack is clearly best pony
shadow kid the gamer (5 months ago)
For mothers Russian 3:05
j (5 months ago)
That MA Larson panel was outstanding, was there in person!(Final year for that con). He was signing random things and that made it me laugh whenever I saw a sign with his signature.
CookieDreams57 (5 months ago)
I actually liked this one, you notice everyone who read the book started judging 1 main character and I think that's something accurate, we all have a favorite main character we relate to and we have 1 we judge because we don't get them. The G3 ponies didn't read the book and solved their problem while the rest of Ponyville was too busy thinking about the friendship journal. It'd made me think of reality shows and why a ton of people don't like them because the drama doesn't look like something that could happen and they basically read about stuff that'd of course would only happen to the main 6. I could see the lessons: don't believe everything you read, don't judge a book by its cover, learn to solve your own problems, and don't instantly change your mind of someone without knowing their side of the story. There could be more but this is another don't take fame to your head episode.
Yusei Brony (5 months ago)
That's my biblical bro for ya!
Doom guy (5 months ago)
1:57 SHUT UP
Doom guy (5 months ago)
3:08 COMMUSTACHE
xspyroid (5 months ago)
11:55 "Your character would've been better if you stayed in Canterlot." Am I the only one that See's an issue with this? It's like saying "Frodo's character would've been better if he never even heard of the one ring," or "She-Ra and He-Man would've been better if they didn't have their Power-Swords or be heroes at all!" WHO THE HELL SAYS THAT?! People who hate stories? I don't get it, and I'm sure THEY don't either.
Barry Smith (6 months ago)
joshscorcher Didn't you say in your season 5 premiere review that Starlight led a cult? I get that this was supposed to be an April Fools Day video and we shouldn't take it too seriously, but why did you not keep with that cult thought?
Champ2stay (6 months ago)
"you should never tell someone that they can't have an opinion" a lesson the Buddy Bears need grilled into their brains with a diamond drill (either description of Diamond Drill can be used)
jaggin 75 (6 months ago)
Great review. But I have to say Hasbro was trying to make it seem like bronies was a problem in many things with the series and I cant lie as to say on toptens website for reasons to hate mlp fim bronies is #1 on that list, but The writer was trying to make the episode about being more caring to the staff and crew members which I have no problem with. I actually like this episode but I compared it more with other fandoms like Star Wars. Fluttershy and Rarity was on point how people said traits about their characters but Applejack I dont understsnd she seems to be the least liked character not that people hate her but Ive seen her on the bottom of the favorite mlp characters and she was in last place of the mane 6 and yet she appeared in more episodes than Twilight and the others. So what Hasbro wanted was to make it seem that the series problem was the fans. It is similar to many companies of certain brands, when things dont sell blame the people, when people are criticizing it they are racist sexist manbaby nazi russian bots with no pure heart, when they are using fair use they are trying to steal the IP and bank off of it. Well thats another story. But yes I feel that the internet is intimidating many of these businesses the most, because anyone meaning nearly everyone can voice their opinions about a problem whether by typing, making videos, podcast etc. they start to get worried. Does Fan entitlement exist of course like anything else but if they are the minority than what is the issue. Well companies can use that to label negative criticisms of a fandom. Its a way of saying they dont matter but they are still problematic to the brand and to those who behave in that matter are but to label the entire fandom that way is worst for the brand especially when they are filled with great people. Yes Hasbro wanted the mane 6 to be the victims instead of it being about the crew trying to reason with the fans and it is a shame. But I do like the Flawless song though. Now Im not a fan of writers and crew trying to feel like victims and pit fans against each other, but thats another topic for another day now.
maddy miller (6 months ago)
I hate this episode for everything it has happened in the episode. Here’s a big middle finger 🖕 for the episode.
Jonathan Hay (6 months ago)
Great vid dude
Umie (6 months ago)
10:53 oh well there’s Craig anyways these are just background noise for me, good points all together, just saw Craig and had to comment.
Skakuna (6 months ago)
I actually like the look of Gen 3 Ponies. I never watched it as a cartoon, but my favourite pony toy I had as a child was a toy from that generation. For the longest time I was trying to draw ponies like that, and I still have tendencies to do that. Also, was I the only one who thought 'they should fix the situation by going back in time and never let them publish the journal'...?
William (6 months ago)
3:10 NOT ENOUGH MEDALS YOU SCRUB
The Brony Weeb (7 months ago)
At 5:22 I could only think this "HA HA HA SUCK IT RARITY HA". Sorry Josh.
galaxy man . jpg (7 months ago)
3:07 ...i was gonna say fascism but...okay
Rarity worst pony.
rouyrre du colibri (7 months ago)
this episode is priceless because it's complex, in the message i mean. your statement is good and true but you can see the messages in a different way, like with the two foals, for me it mean that we need to focus more on the few who gets it than the ones who complicate the debate too much. (I'm french, so if you understand it, that all that mater, not the grammar or orthograph.) and there is a bunch more, but the comments can give there own reflexion about it
Sladashi Fowler (7 months ago)
Someone call the mental asylum for Hasbro, also, I don't know what soapbox means.
HowYouKnowItsReal 112 (7 months ago)
it's me, sans... *MEGALOVONO*
Sunshine Crystal (7 months ago)
Josh do you ship lyra and Bon Bon 😏
PorygonQ Meme (8 months ago)
Insane Rarity is even worse then insane Twilight and insane Pinkie Pie.
btamamura (7 months ago)
What about "you're going to LOOOVE MEEE!!!" Fluttershy?
Janinna Maynz (8 months ago)
Josh, I love your reviews, but you have one issue that really bugs me. You complain about things in the show because they don't make sense in our world, like Hearth's Warming vs Christmas, Feet vs Hooves, etc, but you're failing to realize: This doesn't take place in our world. Why would ponies celebrate Christmas? Why would they call their hooves, feet? In the context of the show, they are real ponies. The pony talking to Twilight acts as if the journal is a work of fiction, when, in the context of the show, it is nonfiction. You fail to see many of these things in the context of the show, only seeing it as a show aimed to please humans. That's why I really enjoyed hearing 'everypony' instead of 'everybody' because while both work, pony makes more sense in their world. Fillies and Gentlecolts instead of Ladies and Gentlemen. In your hooves instead of in your hands. I didn't realize I wanted Hearth's Warming and Hearts and Hooves day until I got them, because why would ponies celebrate human holidays? *notices description* JOSH! HOW DARE YOU SUPPORT SILVER WITH HIS DRINKING PROBLEM?!?!?!
DBZFighter79 (8 months ago)
0:46 whos covered up and why?
TheMaskedFacade (8 months ago)
I find it funny how during your speech about how people are free to interpret things their own way and how you have to make a message clear you draw reference to "Feeling Pinkie Keen", the episode that a lot of people got a sense of religious overtones from. Not a criticism here, just a fun thing to think about.
turtswing (8 months ago)
Yeah, I agree that what happened to Larson's original idea was underhanded, but I'm often on Tumblr and sadly I've heard of people from the biggest fandoms acting just like the ponies from this episode (I've heard stuff from the Star Wars fandom that is really not pretty). I've seen a few TV shows nowadays having at least one episode devoted to dealing with fandom criticism (MLP, Steven Universe...), and I personally admire that, since they address issues that need to be addressed (harassment, self entitlement, arrogance...), but I can see why they're usually seen as the worst episodes of their series; most likely because it is never made clear that what the episodes are doing is to make a wake up call to the vocal minority, and not criticizing the whole fandom. Fame and Misfortune is not a bad episode in my eyes, but, yeah, I think that showing many more calmer "fans" both old and young, alongside Coconut Cream and Toola Roola, thus showing the better side of the fandoms, would've worked better.
Unicorn Bunny (8 months ago)
turtswing That’s okay. Thanks for clarifying. 🙂👍
turtswing (8 months ago)
I was referring to "Rocknaldo", as it's accused as being a mockery towards the fans who complain for every little thing that doesn't work according to them; now, yeah, I need to rectify what I said: the true message of "Rocknaldo" is more about being an ally for a cause or a group without expecting special treatment or just boosting your own ego, but it's seen as also an attack to the fandom, and considering the episode stars Ronaldo, a pretty despised character, and CN did a terrible job in the advertisement department by giving false hopes by hinting at a new character that never came, the episode ended up being seen as mediocre by SU standards. I personally enjoyed it because it does contains some things to remember if you are part of a group, but I understand why many people didn't. Hope this got cleared out. :)
Unicorn Bunny (8 months ago)
turtswing What episode of Steven Universe was that? Because I don’t remember the show having an episode that attacked the critics.
Gojira Tanaka (8 months ago)
okay, finally going to say it, but the part about the journal at the end with that reporter... I don't think it was about the show in general... let's just say I have tried talking about my past before with people, and they said some things that made me realize sometimes we get too caught up in the fiction, that sometimes we forget about being in reality, like we/they have had a VR headset on for most of the time that the ability to tell the difference between fiction and reality has become blurred.
CrasherX 2000 (8 months ago)
9:06 Should’ve said the Sonic fanbase instead...
Blade Crysto (8 months ago)
and those brats are the reason my parents left the fandom and they tried forcing me to leave. i even had to deal with one during school. i had to straight up tell him to "grow up" multiple times to the point that i said " we are no longer going to be friends if you keep acting this way" and that honestly hurt to have to stop being friends with someone over a show about friendship simply because of childish behavior. I also feel this is targeted at the bronies just entering the fandom, the ones who haven't decided "best pony". This episode is a clear warning label to them so they know "hey, these people exist, be careful"
Colorful Gamer (8 months ago)
I honestly was getting into the show a lot but after seeing this episode it just ran me the wrong way for so many reasons I tried watching a episode I liked but I found I couldn't at all just knowing that this was what the authors thought of the people who loved there show enough to spend time to go over the things they think were bad or they disliked were just all around horrible people like this episode shows just doesn't make me wanna watch it knowing that the authors hate the fact I'm watching it and making me feel guilty for liking it thinking I was part of a problem 😞
death100ify (8 months ago)
But I love the cactus juice it make me happy.
Buttercupkat Productions (8 months ago)
I love this episode. :3
Christina Jindra (8 months ago)
Gosh..that Jesus thing...XD I DIED!!!! TOO ADORABLE!!!!!
TheHammerGuy (8 months ago)
5:20 josh: (VERY TRIGGERED) *HOW DARE YOU MAKE BEST PONY CRY!!!*
Rusty _Gamer (8 months ago)
3:28 I see you like undertale
Crowborn Chaos (9 months ago)
*openly disses best pony* No regrets..... Got to love opinions.^^
Phoenix Rose (9 months ago)
I was watching this when my Dad said, “It’s wrong for a grown man to watch MLP.” Yeah.
Phoenix Rose (8 months ago)
Unicorn Bunny Yes. I tell him that every time he opens his mouth about the subject, but he doesn’t “believe me?” I don’t know why he’s against this... 😕
Unicorn Bunny (8 months ago)
Phoenix Rose How is it wrong? People are free to enjoy and criticise whatever they want.
AlphaOmega0001 (9 months ago)
"Take a shot for every minute I soapbox." jeez dude, that's 21 shots. you tryin' to kill us?
Charlie Caggiano (9 months ago)
8 seconds in. A quick pause. Laughter
Carribean Wolf (9 months ago)
quick question. Can anyone name the egyptian goddess looking pony and the black and grey one at 0:11 for me? Don't think I've ever seen them before.
Nathan Jarrett (9 months ago)
Although legend of zelda is my favourite game series, what you said is true, especially with ocarina of time fanboys/girls who are too blinded by nostalgia to see how flawed that game is, now I'm not saying it's a bad game, it's a great game and I love it, but other 3d zelda games have done 3d better. Also people need to stop hating on Skyward Sword, yes it's a very flawed game, but it's a really fun game, most of the time, and isn't having fun the point of playing video games
Lucy Flames (10 months ago)
Lucy: you use flaws just used the song flawless right and I learned a lesson from the episoded because I learned to be true to yourself don't hide how you are
lunar kitty15 (10 months ago)
I had Tula Rula as a 3g doll i loved her i didnt remember tell i saw the 3g pic of her i miss 3g a little makes me nostalgic by the way pretty sure the messages was to the fandom 1. Dont overly nit pick 2. Characters need development 3. Not all will agree but some will 4. Without flaws there would be no storyline
Camden Murfin (10 months ago)
Cough cough SILVER QUILL cough cough
Joshua Hale (10 months ago)
The Zelda fandom, na definitely more like the Call of Duty fandom
Unicorn Bunny (8 months ago)
Joshua Hale Or The Fortnite fandom. Or the Steven Universe fandom.
casey greenberg (10 months ago)
So with your comment on them saying that there characters are real I think it's more of for the brony community to tell us that hay we hear your comments but we can't fix everything and that as not much that the characters are real but the people behind the characters
Ariana Quebert (10 months ago)
Did Josh spill his coffee or something before making this review? He seemed to see nearly everything in a really negative light, to the point where I found myself constantly saying, "Dude, it wasn't that bad, get over it and MOVE ON ALREADY!" Now this is gonna sound weird because I know your whole shtick is that you take things too seriously or whatever, but dude; CHILL. OUT.
Chai Mocha (4 months ago)
While I can see your gripes with how Josh handled this review, is he wrong to have issues with the episode?
Dave Kendall (9 months ago)
Really? It wasn't like he was yelling and moaning with overly dramatic music playing. (Which is actually a trope I've noticed from Top 10 Worsts lists.)
Graycloud 159 (10 months ago)
how was something in season 2 put into a journal made in season 4? please correct me if i'm wrong
Graycloud 159 (10 months ago)
and did anyone notice how twilight never said her faults in the song?
Connor Peterson (10 months ago)
Is it just me... Or does Josh look like another Youtuber? *Cough* Mithzan *cough*
icedog55puck (10 months ago)
no one else dislike it is at 69 do in for the fam
Ross Jones (10 months ago)
first of all turns to the meg ad
J.V. (10 months ago)
This episode is a metaphor for itself.
Gandalf White (10 months ago)
"and if anyone dares to hate on best pony again, fight me" ... I HATE RARITY! JK, I don't hate her, she's just my least favourite of the main 6. Which is surprising since I really value Generosity. I think the first couple of seasons put her off for me, since I saw her as really annoying. Also I'm the opposite of Rarity in a Fluttershy sort of way. Rarity is all about being popular and having all the attention, always wanting to look her best, however I would throw on some cloths, think "good enough", and if I'm ever at a party, hang around in the back corner.
Gandalf White (10 months ago)
Okay, I've watched a bunch of people talk about this episode, and NO ONE found out the message that I found in this episode Its hardly anything to do with Hasbro complaining or explaining their actions, its more of a message to content creators The meaning that I found in the episode is that yes, people can get overwhelming at times, and they will start thinking you as a character more then a person, and no matter how hard you try, you can't destroy all hate/stalking/people getting exited because your there. Rarity and Fluttershy are the people who have the haters of the group, and Rainbow Dash, Pinkie Pie, and AppleJack have the other two. However the smallest spark of you helping someone can bring a whole lot of light to the situation, which, in this case, were the little kids. But, in reality, aren't we all kids deep down? It all depends on if you want to show it or not. Also, the fact that they decided to ignore the ponies that were overwhelming them just tells people that you don't have to listen to all hate that comes your way, because, in the end, its you who will ultimately decide what you will become. I'm not sure if this is the actual message, but the reason I came to this conclusion was that a bunch of people who recorded their reaction to this episode said that they liked it, and a bunch of people who didn't like it didn't have youtube channels. So I thought about it and connected dots, even thinking about other fandoms who have this very same problem. Also I found this episode to be a great one and I wanted a good message out of it other then "We're not perfect, so don't judge us"
firescales (10 months ago)
Ok hi sans .......what the what ?????

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.